Search results for: 5g

The virtualization of optical networks to support… 5G

réseaux optiques, optical networks

Mobile networks are not entirely wireless. They also rely on a network of optical fibers, which connect antennas to the core network, among other things. With the arrival of 5G, optical networks must be able to keep up with the ramping up of the rest of the mobile network to …

+

5G: what it is? How does it work?

5G

Xavier Lagrange, Professor of network systems, IMT Atlantique – Institut Mines-Télécom 5G is the fifth generation of standards for mobile networks. Although this technology has fueled many societal debates on its environmental impact, possible health effects, and usefulness, here we will focus on the technological aspects. How does 5G work? …

+

Mathematical tools to meet the challenges of 5G

Antenna 5G infrastructure

The arrival of 5G marks a turning point in the evolution of mobile telecommunications standards. In order to cope with the constant increase in data traffic and the requirements and constraints of future uses, teams at Télécom SudParis and Davidson Consulting have joined forces in the AIDY-F2N joint laboratory. Their objective is to provide …

+

5G-Victori: large-scale tests for vertical industries

5G-Victori

Twenty-five European partners have joined together in the three-year 5G-Victori project launched in June 2019. They are conducting large-scale trials for advanced use case validation in commercially relevant 5G environments. Navid Nikaein, researcher at EURECOM, key partner of the 5G-Victori project, details the challenges here.   What was the context …

+

Putting drones to the 5G test

5G!Drones, 5G Drones

5G!Drones, a European project bringing together industrialists, network operators and research centers, was launched in June 2019 for a three-year period. It should ultimately validate the use of 5G for delivery services by drone. Adlen Ksentini, a researcher at EURECOM, a key partner in the project, explains the challenges involved. …

+

Qualcomm, EURECOM and IMT joining forces to prepare the 5G of the future

Qualcomm

5G is moving into the second phase of its development, which will bring a whole host of new technological challenges and innovations. Research and industry stakeholders are working hard to address the challenges posed by the next generation of mobile communication. In this context, Qualcomm, EURECOM and IMT recently signed a …

+

5G: the new generation of mobile is already a reality

Une dossier 5G, pollution numérique

While 4G is still being rolled out, 5G is already in the starting blocks. For consumers whose smartphones still show “3G” alongside a reception indicator which rarely makes it over two bars out of four, this can be quite perplexing. Is it realistic to assure them that 5G is already …

+

SDN and virtualization: more intelligence in 5G networks

openairinterface, SDN

New uses for 5G imply a new way of managing telecommunications networks. To open the way for new actors, we will have to divide and virtualize network slices, and find a dynamic way of allocating them to new services. This organization is made possible thanks to SDN: a technique which …

+

Will 5G turn the telecommunications market upside-down?

Mobile World Congress 2016, market

The European Commission is anticipating the arrival of the fifth generation in mobile phones (5G) in 2020. It is expected to significantly increase data speeds and offer additional uses. However, the extent of the repercussions on the telecommunications market and on services is still difficult to evaluate, even for the …

+

Résultats de recherche pour: 5g

[Podcast] L’apostrophe : que nous réserve encore la 5G ?

La 5G commence à être disponible pour les utilisateurs, mais elle n’est pas aboutie pour autant. Dans les années à venir, la 5G subira encore des évolutions technologiques, apportant des nouvelles fonctionnalités et de meilleures performances. Et déjà, la 6G est en ligne de mire pour les chercheurs et les …

+

La virtualisation des réseaux optiques au service… de la 5G

réseaux optiques

Les réseaux mobiles ne sont pas complètement sans fil. Ils reposent également sur un maillage de fibres optiques, reliant notamment les antennes au cœur de réseau. Avec l’arrivée de la 5G, les réseaux optiques doivent être capables de suivre la montée en puissance du reste du réseau mobile, afin d’assurer …

+

La 5G : qu’est-ce que c’est ? Comment ça marche ?

5G

La version originale de cet article a été initialement publiée sur The Conversation. Par Xavier Lagrange, IMT Atlantique – Institut Mines-Télécom La 5G est la cinquième génération des standards pour la téléphonie mobile. Si cette technologie alimente beaucoup de débats sociétaux sur son impact environnemental, sur des conséquences possibles sur …

+

5G-Victori : des tests à grande échelle pour les industries verticales

5G-Victori

Vingt-cinq partenaires européens sont rassemblés dans le projet 5G-Victori, lancé en juin 2019 pour 3 ans. Ils mènent des essais à grande échelle afin de valider des cas d’usage avancé pour les industries verticales, dans des environnements 5G commercialement pertinents. Navid Nikaein, chercheur à EURECOM, partenaire clé du projet 5G-Victori, …

+

Les outils mathématiques pour répondre aux défis de la 5G

Les infrastructures 5G doivent permettre de fournir des réseaux sur-mesure pour chaque usage.

L’arrivée de la 5G marque un tournant dans l’évolution des normes de télécommunications mobiles. Pour répondre à l’augmentation constante du trafic des données, aux exigences et aux contraintes des futurs usages, les équipes de Télécom SudParis et de Davidson consulting se sont associées au sein du laboratoire commun AIDY-F2N. Leur …

+

Les drones à l’épreuve de la 5G

5G Drones

Réunissant industriels, opérateurs réseaux et centres de recherche, le projet européen 5G!Drones a été lancé en juin 2019 pour une durée de trois ans. À terme, il devra valider l’usage de la 5G pour le déploiement de services par drones. Adlen Ksentini, chercheur à EURECOM, partenaire clé de ce projet, …

+

Où en est la 5G ?

2019 est une année charnière pour la 5G. Le 5 avril dernier, la nouvelle génération de télécommunications mobiles a fait ses débuts officiels en Corée du Sud. En Europe, son premier déploiement est prévu pour l’année prochaine, et les chercheurs et industriels travaillent d’ores et déjà à son amélioration pour …

+

Qualcomm, EURECOM et l’IMT s’associent pour préparer la 5G de demain

Au Mobile World Congress 2019 de Barcelone, Qualcomm multipliait les annonces sur la 5G, assumant son statut de gros acteur industriel dans le domaine.

La 5G amorce actuellement sa deuxième phase de développement, avec tout un lot de nouveaux défis techniques et d’innovations technologiques à venir. La recherche et l’industrie sont donc sur le pont pour répondre aux challenges que pose la prochaine génération de communications mobiles. Dans ce contexte, Qualcomm, EURECOM et l’IMT …

+

5G : la nouvelle génération mobile est déjà une réalité

Une dossier 5G, pollution numérique

Alors que la 4G est toujours en déploiement, la 5G est déjà dans les starting-blocks. Pour le consommateur dont le smartphone affiche encore souvent « 3G » à côté d’un indicateur de réception qui peine à monter au-delà de deux barres sur quatre, cela a de quoi dérouter. Est-il raisonnable de lui …

+